Home - Latest News
Journal Information
Tree-Ring Research


Membership in the Tree-Ring Society
Membership in the Tree-Ring Society includes a subscription to the journal TREE-RING RESEARCH and announcements of future meetings and workshops oriented to tree-ring studies. 
Five classes of membership are available: 
  • Individual: US$50
  • Resident of Developing Country*: US$25
  • Retired Individual: US$25
  • Student: US$25
  • Institution: US$60
To become a member, please fill out the member application form and either send in with your payment or pay by credit card through Paypal. 
* Defined by: http://data.worldbank.org/indicator/NY.GNP.PCAP.CD.

To mail payment, please send to:
Tree-Ring Society
4624 Foothills Drive
Loveland, CO 80537 USA
Payment of membership fee by credit card is open to members in most countries, but does require confirmation of card number through PayPal account.  Please follow the link from the member application form to the credit card payment system for further details.

The Tree-Ring Society was founded in 1935 by A.E. Douglass and several archaeological colleagues at the third Tree-Ring Conference in Santa Fe, New Mexico.  Douglass and the new science of dendrochronology had recently won worldwide acclaim by providing precise dates for construction of many of the great pueblo villages of the southwestern US.  The first issue of the TREE-RING BULLETIN was published the year before, and Douglass was elected as the first President of the new society dedicated to strengthening the fledging discipline of dendrochronology.  During the following years, the Society maintained a very close relationship with the Laboratory of Tree-Ring Research at the University of Arizona in Tucson, founded by Douglass in 1937.

Dendrochronology today consists of numerous laboratories and individual scientists that benefit from a professional association that serves as a conduit for the latest news of the discipline and serves to promote tree-ring research to the larger scientific community. The membership of the Society is reflective of the global nature of contemporary tree-ring research.

The Society is governed by an Executive Board, elected to serve from 2015 to 2016:

President: Elaine Kennedy Sutherland
     US Forest Service, Rocky Mountain Research Station, Missoula, Montana USA
     sutherland.elaine [at] gmail.com

Vice President: Iain Robertson
     Department of Geography, Swansea University, Swansea, UK   
     i.robertson [at] swansea.ac.uk

Secretary: Kevin Smith
     US Forest Service, Northern Research Station, Durham, New Hampshire USA
     ktsmith [at] fs.fed.us

Treasurer: Ron Towner
     Laboratory of Tree-Ring Research, University of Arizona, Tucson, Arizona USA
     rht [at] email.arizona.edu

Editor of Tree-Ring Research: Steve Leavitt
 Laboratory of Tree-Ring Research, University of Arizona
     sleavitt [at] ltrr.arizona.edu

Communications: Chris Gentry
     Department of Geosciences, Austin Peay State Univ., Clarksville, Tennessee USA
     gentryc [at] apsu.edu 
Student Member: Lauren Stachowiak
     Department of Geography, University of Tennessee, Knoxville, Tennessee USA
     lstachow [at] vols.utk.edu

Representative for AmeriDendro 2016 meeting in Argentina: Ignacio Mundo
     Laboratorio de Dendrocronología, IANIGLA-CCT CONICET, Mendoza, Argentina
     iamundo [at] mendoza.conicet.gob.ar

For questions or comments, contact Peter M. Brown (pmb [at] rmtrr.org)
Last update: 15 September 2015
© Tree-Ring Society.  All rights reserved.